Book Reviews

Review: Hot for Xmas

Hot for XmasHot for Xmas by Trinity Blacio
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Hot for Xmas was the first book I’ve read from this author, I was intrigued by the cover and the description. However, I’m afraid that the description/synopsis includes a bit more detail than what was actually covered in the book. We did learn about Emily and her past and yet I don’t recall reading about Baas’ family history or any such thing.

Despite a few discrepancies such as this, along with minor typos and misspellings (Such as the Character ‘Zack’ has his name spelled as ‘Zack’ and ‘Zach’ intermittently); The book was rather enjoyable.

I liked the characters and found them to be very entertaining. Emily as the smart aleck lead was a joy and often had me laughing when paired up against Baas and his Alpha brothers (Not blood related). Baas is our main Alpha followed by Sam, Zack, and Abe. The story focuses mostly on Baas and Emily with a few of the others interspersed, here and there.

I felt as if the story just kind of left Sam, Zack and Abe hanging as add-ons….I remember Sam and Zack being mentioned but I hardly ever saw Abe. I even struggled to come up with their names…but this is most likely due to the shortness of the book.

I found it rather too short for my personal taste, I prefer a bit more character development and dynamic throughout my erotic romances. However because this is a short story more-so than a full on novel, I have to say that overall it is well-written. I enjoyed it despite it’s flaws and found it to be a light-hearted quickie.

I like how Trinity writes the paranormal world and her characterization of Alphas. Not many authors get this trope correct but Trinity definitely hit the nail on the head. She wrote them to be overprotective, strong and domineering, but in a way that it’s not so overbearing that it overshadows the female lead.

This book was exactly what it intended to be, A short erotic tale with wolf shifters.

The sex scenes were written well, versatile enough that any seasoned erotica reader would understand it. However for those who are not familiar with certain ‘interests’ or if this is their first erotic novel…they may feel a bit lost in some of the terms. There were times, where character’s movements weren’t clear but otherwise I could follow it easily.

As my introduction to Trinity Blacio’s works, this was a decent start…I am curious about her other stories and books. I can see that she’s an excellent writer and I’d like to see just what she can do with other tales.

I’d like to thank the Publishers and NetGalley for allowing me to read and review this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

